Uninvited

Rejection…

One of the most terrible feelings in the world. The very feeling that you don’t belong, or that you are undesired. It hurts so much, and we all have experienced it. Sometimes rejection destroys us. As Lysa says, “Rejection steals the best of who I am by reinforcing the worst of what’s been said to me.” It was destroying me. My painful encounters on the playground started echoing thoughts of worthlessness. God used the Uninvited book as a tool in my life to help me overcome depression, which developed from the low self esteem that rejection gave me. That is why I am so excited to participate in Lysa TerKeurst’s Uninvited Book Tour this week!

uninvitedReading Uninvited has been such an amazing experience. I knew I was depressed for years. I was fully aware of my sadness, but I never understood why. A few months ago I saw this book on social media and it changed my life. Lysa wrote about her heartbreaking experiences such as the times she sat lonely in parties, and I instantly connected with her. I realized how much I had let my past hurts define me. I became the lies the enemy fed me. He told me I was worthlessness, unable to make a friend, doomed for disaster, and so on. Because I believed the lies, I couldn’t walk in confidence. I walked around believing people were looking at me with disapproving eyes. These were all lies.

Lysa TerKeurst’s encouraging words helped me realize that. She talks about how we can overcome these feelings of rejection by fully inviting God in. She reminds her readers that Jesus loves us so much. We wants to personally know us and be with us. He wants to share our hurts and comfort us. When we feel sad and uninvited, we need to bring it to God for healing. It is when we invite God in that we can live confidently. We can “live loved.” That phrase is one that I repeat to myself, a phrase that Lysa shares in her book.

This book is amazing because of the presence of God and the author’s transparency. She spoke from a place of understanding, and pointed out that God understands too. It is wonderful to be understood, and to finally understand yourself. This book helped me overcome depression. By knowing what was wrong in my life, I could finally get better. I learned the truth to destroy the lies. The truth that this book quoted from so much; the Bible. Ultimately, I know that I am loved, and I seek to live loved. Just because I feel rejected because I was invited to a gathering, or because I was stood up, doesn’t mean there is something wrong on my behalf. Life happens, and when we know we are living in God’s infinite love, we don’t sit in desperate rejection. With that, I thoroughly recommend Uninvited to everyone who might be hurting from rejection or even to those who want to counsel others. God has done a wonderful work through it.

Even when you’re overlooked by others, you are handpicked by God. In her new book, Uninvited, New York Times bestselling author Lysa TerKeurst will help you live like you really believe that truth! You can get your copy by going to http://www.uninvitedbook.com.

Leave a Reply

